You can help make your Texas wedding less stressful by knowing about the marriage laws and regulations of Texas. Online application
ID Requirement: In Texas, you will need one valid form of id such as drivers license, certified copy of your birth certificate, U. S. passport, military ID card, and your Social Security number. Your names must be the same on both.
Residency Requirement: Neither one of you have to be a resident of Texas. Texas is a great locale for a destination wedding!
State of Texas Marriage License Requirements
1. Each applicant must present one of the following forms of identification:
2. Each applicant must present one of the following for proof of Social Security number:
3. Fee for a Marriage License in Texas is approximately $71 without State of Texas Marriage Education Counseling Class; approximately $11 with counseling class (Cash only accepted)
For more information on the Marriage Education Counseling Class, click on the Twogether in Texas link below for the online course. Or go to www.twogetherintexas.com.
4. The following applies to application for a Marriage License in the State of Texas:
Note: If applicant is from Mexico and does not have any of the forms of identification, he or she may be required to show valid photo ID from the Mexican Consulate.
5. Witnesses: Witnesses are not required in the State of Texas. Neither the Bride and Groom nor any witnesses are required to sign the marriage license. The Minister/Officiant is the only one who is required to sign the license.
Renewal of Vows or Secret Marriage Remarriage: It doesn't matter if the couple was previously secretly married or just wants to renew their marriage vows, according to the Texas state laws, a county clerk must issue a marriage license to a couple who is already married to each other if they want to get married again.
Proxy Marriage: Yes. In Texas, any adult person can apply on behalf of an applicant who is unable to appear personally before the county clerk. An affidavit of absence form must be provided. If you are incarcerated and are unable to be present for your wedding ceremony, you can also request a Prison Proxy form.
Pre-marital Education: According to Texas law, couples are encouraged to attend a premarital education course that covers important marital skills and issues such as conflict management and communication and that is at least eight hours duration. It must be finished during the year preceding your applying for a marriage license. Contact the county clerk for a roster of area course providers.
Aside from the benefit of being better prepared for marriage, TwogetherInTexas.com states "Texas couples who complete a qualifying premarital education workshop will have $60.00 of the marriage license fee waived, as well as the 72-hour waiting period."
Previous Marriage: If divorced within thirty days, Texas requires that you show a certified copy of your divorce decree stating the 30 day waiting period is waived.
Waiting Period in Texas: The 72 hours (3 days) waiting period in Texas can be waived for active duty military personnel.
Fees and Other Tests: $71 cash in most counties, so don't leave home without it! The fees may vary from Texas county to county due to other county record's fees may apply in addition to this fee.
Getting Married in Texas if You Are Under 18 Years of Age: If you are between 16 and 17 years old, you may apply for a marriage license in Texas ONLY if you have written parental consent on an official form in the presence of the county clerk or if you have received an order from the Texas district court authorizing your marriage.
Same Sex Marriages: Not legal yet in Texas.
Officiants: Persons authorized to perform weddings in Texas include licensed or ordained Christian ministers, priests, Jewish rabbis, officers authorized by religious organizations, justices of the supreme court, judges of the court of criminal appeals, justices of the courts of appeals, judges of the district, county, and probate courts, judges of the county courts at law, judges of the courts of domestic relations, judges of the juvenile courts, retired justices or judges, justices of the peace, retired justices of the peace, and judges or magistrates of a federal court of Texas.
Miscellaneous: The license is valid in Texas for 30 days.
Bureau of Vital Statistics
Texas Department of Health
P.O. Box 12040
Austin, TX 78711-2040
Phone - (512) 458-7111
PLEASE NOTE: State and county marriage license requirements often change. The above information is for guidance only and should not be regarded as legal advice.
It is important that you verify all information with your local marriage license office or county clerk before making any wedding or travel plans.
DFW County Clerks Offices
Dallas County – Main
509 East Main Street
Dallas County – East
E. Dallas Gov’t Center
Dallas County – North
No. Dallas Gov’t Center
10056 Marsh Lane, Ste 137
Tarrant County – Fort Worth
Ft. Worth Old Courthouse
100 W. Weatherford
Tarrant County – Arlington
724 E. Border
Tarrant County – Ft. Worth
6551 Granbury Rd.
Tarrant County – Hurst
645 Grapevine Highway
Denton County Courthouse
1450 East McKinney Street
Denton County – Carrollton
Sandy Jacobs Gov’t Center
Collin County – Plano
Collin County Gov’t Center
900 East Park, Ste 140-C
Collin County – McKinney
Collin County Courthouse
2300 Bloomdale Road
Rockwall County – Rockwall
1101 Ridge Road